This ward of the city of Georgetown has an oblong form being one fourth of a mile broad and one mile long. It was established by the French in  1782 on the Company’s reserve and was named by the Dutch after Nicholas Gleevinck; Lord of Stabroek, the then President of the Dutch West India Company  in 1784.

Many of the streets were named after prominent members of society. Several of the short streets running north to south of Stabroek were known by numbers before they were named by the Mayor & Town Council in 1901.

  • Croal Street, named after John Croal, a former Mayor of Georgetown, was also known as  Red Dam due to its surface covering of red earth.
  • Hadfield Street was named after Joseph Hadfield, an architect and former Crown Surveyor, of the colony of British Guiana.
  • Magnet Place was named after, Dr. Etienne Magnet, the Director of Medical services and a former Surgeon General.
  • Sendall Place was named after, Sir Walter Kendall KCMG, a former Governor (1898 -1901) of Georgetown.
  • Pollard Place was named after, the Honourable W. B. Pollard, a former Auditor General and Vlissingen Commissioner.
  • Boyle Place was named after, Sir Cadenish Boyle KCME., a Government secretary and acting Governor (1894-1900) of the city.
  • Austin Place, was named after, Charles Austin, the son of Bishop Austin and Receiver General and Vlissingen Commissioner.
  • Brummell Place was named after John Brummell, Sheriff of Demerara, Police Magistrate of Georgetown and the first Chairman of the Botanic Gardens.
  • Chalners Place, was named after a Crown Surveyor who died in 1877. Winter Place was named in memory of, Mr. F. A. R. Winter, a well known merchant and the founder of Hand in Hand Insurance Company.
  • Sandeman Place was named after, Patrick Sandeman, the keeper of the Government Astronomical & Meterological Observatory.
  • Brickdam ,the main street of this ward of the city, was paved with bricks and made of burnt earth until 1921 when it was paved over for the arrival of the Prince of Wales (King Edward VII).  The upper side of Brickdam was once lined with palm trees, which were planted by Mr. Richard M. Jones.

The Parliament Building, designed by Joseph Hadfield, was built on a foundation of  greenheart  logs. In 1829 the foundation stone was laid and in April 1834 the structure, stuccoed to resemble stone blocks, was completed.

It is   an  excellent example of 19th century Renaissance architecture and  is one of  the two domed buildings in  the city. Within its compound  are two canons that  were  used  in the Cimmerian War and a statue of Hubert  Nathaniel  Critchlow,  OBE [1884 –1958]  who  is regarded as the father of  Trade Unionism in  Guyana.

The Stabroek Market, is one of the most distinctive buildings of the city, constructed of steel it was built in 1881. Designed by an American engineer Nathaniel McKay, this market houses a variety of items for sale. Built partly on land and water this building may be the oldest structure still in use within the city. Though the architectural style is elusive, the iron structure is reminiscent of the Victorian era of Great Britain.

The Brickdam Police Station,  Georgetown’s central police station, occupies an entire block. This main building is said to have been designed and constructed   by Cesar Castellani. Decorative cast iron and a weather vane atop the roof are amongst the main architectural features of the building. Housed within this complex are several offices, which were formally the residences of affluent men in society.

The Smiths Congregational Church, was built in honor of the Reverend John Smith. He arrived in Guyana in 1817, sent by the London Missionary society to evangelize and teach the ex slaves. His actions antagonized the planters and he  was charged with treason in 1823 and was sentenced to death.  He died in prison on 6 February 1824.

The Ministry of Health is another example of Georgetown’s colonial architecture. This building was once the Orphan’s Asylum and from 1918 – 1951  Queens College was housed in this building. Joseph Hadfield, one of the most prolific architects of that period designed the colonial block of the building.

St. Andrews Kirk is the oldest building continually in  use for religious purposes. The   Dutch   Reformed congregation  laid its foundations in 1811. However,   due to financial difficulties it was acquired by Scottish Presbyterians and was formally opened for service on   28 February 1818.

St. Stanislaus College, was  the first catholic school in Guyana,  was opened on 1 May 1866 by Fr. Langton .In the early years, the school was known as St. Stanislaus Grammar School and occupied various sites. In 1907 the name was changed to St. Stanislaus College and the present Brickdam site was acquired. The original part of the present building goes back to 1928, during the term of Fr. (later Bishop) Weld. In 1954, a further wing was added, and in November 1973 the newly built Hopkinson Wing was opened. St. Stanislaus College is one hundred and thirty-seven years old.

The Chinese Association, was founded in 1920 to accommodate the Chinese within an institution of their own. Elegance from the east is evident in the style of the roof and the columns that grace the main entrance to the building.

The Teaching Service Commission is housed in an elegant wooden building. The attractive wooden molds and ornate fretwork around the roof  testify to the craftsmanship and artistry of the Guyanese builders. This building  was formerly owned by the DeSouza family.

The Palms, this institution which houses the poor was constructed between 1874 and 1878. The complex was extended in 1900 with the addition of two buildings. This complex derives its name from the palm trees which once lined the streets of Brickdam.

The Independence Arch. This was handed over to Prime Minister Burnham by the managing director of the Demerara Bauxite Company Mr. J. G. Campbell as a gift to the people of Guyana on the achievement of their independence.

The Georgetown Magistrates Court was constructed in 1897, as an extension to accommodate the legal proceedings. Decorative ironwork is a prominent feature above doors and the main entrance.

Demico House, is one of the oldest structures owned by D’ Aguiars Industries and Holdings [Banks D I H Ltd.]. The building was purchased by the D’ Aguiars brothers in 1893 and converted to a bar in 1896 and  a hotel in 1972.

Kings House, the residence of our earliest Governors, was constructed around 1909. This building has had several distinguished occupants, including R. G. Woolford (1909), J. M. Chee-A-Low (19150, T. Rodrigues (1918),  J.P. Santos Ltd.  (1934), Joseph L. Wills bought (1936)and the First Federation Life Ins. Co. Ltd. (1964).This building currently houses the  office of the  Ministry of Home Affairs.

Young Women’s Christian Association was built in 1951on the premises  an army barrack which was  bought from the then Atkinson Air base in 1950.

The Brickdam Cathedral or the Cathedral of Immaculate Conception dates back to the 1920s. With the distinct characteristics of Romanesque architecture the cathedral designed by Mr. Leonard Stokes, is the third cathedral as the first two constructed of wood, were destroyed by fire and termites respectively.

The 1763 Monument. Surrounded by a small garden this monument has been described as the ‘Greatest Standing Sculpture of the Caribbean,’ by British based painter Aubrey Williams. It signifies the struggle of the Guyanese for their liberation and was the first sculpture of bronze in Guyana.  It was cut into various sections and the molds cast in bronze and then reassembled through welding.