The monument commemorates the 1972 Conference of Foreign Ministers of Non- Aligned countries when it was held in Guyana, 8 – 11 August, 1972.

The monument was unveiled by His Excellency, Mr. Arthur Chung, the first President of Guyana, in honour of the founders of the Non – Aligned Movement: President Gamal Abdel Nasser of Egypt, President Kwame Nkrumah of Ghana, President Pandit Jawaharlall Nehru of India and President Josip Broz Tito of Yugoslavia; the leaders who initiated the conference of Afro – Asian countries.

There are four busts sculpted to the likeness of the founders of the Non-Aligned Movement, three are of bronze and one of plastic. These were sculpted in the countries from which the founder leaders originated.

They are mounted on a concrete plinth with a base made of quartz stone from the Mazaruni district. Four jasper rocks from the Orinduik waterfall adorn the front of the monument in a pool decorated with colourful stones from the riverbeds of Guyana.